ABC Owned Television Stations Extend Sony Pictures Television’s Hit Game Shows for Five More Seasons

Click to download Wheel of Fortune

Click to download Jeopardy!

LOS ANGELES – January 11, 2023 – Wheel of Fortune and Jeopardy!, the two most-watched shows in syndication, have been renewed for five more years, it was announced today by Steve LoCascio, President of CBS Media Ventures.

The ABC Owned Television Stations have sealed a deal to continue to carry the iconic game shows through the 2027-2028 season. Both shows currently air on numerous ABC stations, including those in the top four markets: WABC, New York; KABC, Los Angeles; WLS, Chicago; and WPVI, Philadelphia.

This new deal will take Wheel of Fortune through its 45th season and Jeopardy! through its 44th season. Both shows are produced by Sony Pictures Television and distributed by CBS Media Ventures.

Wheel of Fortune and Jeopardy! are the crown jewels of syndication, drawing larger audiences than almost every prime-time broadcast show,” LoCascio said. “This new deal is a testament to the power of these shows and the power of broadcast television. Viewers and advertisers alike love these shows, and we are excited that this deal continues the legacy of these brands for years to come.”

“We are thrilled to extend our long-running relationship with Jeopardy! and Wheel of Fortune,” said Debra OConnell, president, Disney Networks. “These beloved shows are national treasures that we are proud to bring into the top local markets in the country along with ABC’s award-winning, market leading news and entertainment programming.”

“We are delighted to continue to work alongside our great partners at ABC and CBS to bring two of the most iconic game shows in the world to loyal fans across the nation,” said Suzanne Prete, EVP of Game Shows, Sony Pictures Television.  “The ABC stations have added incredible value to the Wheel of Fortune and Jeopardy! franchises, and we couldn’t be happier to continue our long relationship with them.” 

Hosted by Ken Jennings and Mayim Bialik, Jeopardy! is the most-watched show in syndication, averaging 9 million viewers weekly. Now in its 39th season, the popular quiz show is the #2 most-watched same-day entertainment programming on television, after only “60 Minutes.”

Wheel of Fortune, hosted by Pat Sajak and Vanna White, is celebrating its 40th anniversary this season. It is the second most-watched show in syndication, averaging 8.3 million weekly viewers.

About CBS Media Ventures

CBS Media Ventures is the preeminent company in television syndication. CMV produces or distributes popular, critically acclaimed hits including “Dr. Phil,” “Judge Judy,” “Entertainment Tonight,” “Wheel of Fortune,” “Jeopardy!,” “Inside Edition,” “Rachael Ray” and “The Drew Barrymore Show.” The division also handles national barter advertising sales for Debmar-Mercury's and Fox's first-run syndicated programming, and operates Dabl, a multiplatform, advertiser-supported lifestyle network ( CMV is part of CBS Entertainment Group and a division of Paramount.

About Jeopardy!

Jeopardy!, America’s Favorite Quiz Show™, is in its 39thseason in syndication. With a weekly audience over 20 million viewers,* Jeopardy! is the top-rated quiz show on television. The show has won a total of 43 Emmy® Awards, holds the Guinness World Records® title for the most Emmy® Awards won by a TV game show, and received a Peabody Award for “celebrating and rewarding knowledge.” Jeopardy! is produced by Sony Pictures Television, a Sony Pictures Entertainment Company; it is distributed domestically by CBS Media Venturesand internationally by Paramount Global Content Distribution, both units of Paramount. * Source: Nielsen NPower, 2020/21 (9/14/20-7/4/21)

About Wheel of Fortune:

Trademarked as America’s Game™, Wheel of Fortune has earned seven Emmy Awards including a Daytime Emmy for Outstanding Game/Audience Participation Show. Wheel of Fortune is produced by Sony Pictures Television, a Sony Pictures Entertainment Company. It is distributed domestically by CBS Media Ventures and internationally by Paramount Global Content Distribution, both divisions of Paramount.

* * *

For CBS Media Ventures:

Leslie Ryan

For Sony:

Stacy Weitz

For Disney Networks:

Fonda Berosini

For Wheel of Fortune:

Krista Ostensen Osche

For Jeopardy!:

Alison Shapiro Cooke