CULVER CITY, CALIF. (October 24, 2022) – Let the games begin: the highly anticipated JEOPARDY! Tournament of Champions (ToC) kicks off Monday, October 31. The show’s most prestigious event will be even more competitive than in years past, with a field featuring a record number of super-champions: Amy Schneider (40 games), Matt Amodio (38 games), Mattea Roach (23 games), Ryan Long (16 games), and Jonathan Fisher (11 games) will all return to the Alex Trebek Stage.

21 contestants include the five super-champions, plus every contestant who won four or more games since the last ToC in 2020, as well as the winners of the JEOPARDY! National College Championship and the Professors Tournament. The competition will also feature the two winners of the first-ever Second Chance competition.

ToC 2022 will also see the debut of a brand-new format that eliminates wild cards and features a “best of seven” finals series: the first champion to win three games claims the $250,000 grand prize.


The 2022 JEOPARDY! Tournament of Champions broadcast schedule is as follows:

Monday, October 31 – Friday, November 4 & Monday, November 7: Quarterfinals 1-6

Tuesday, November 8: Special Exhibition Game

Wednesday, November 9 – Friday, November 11: Semifinals 1-3

Monday, November 14 – Wednesday, November 16: Finals Games 1-3

Thursday, November 17: Finals Game 4 (if necessary)

Friday, November 18: Finals Game 5 (if necessary)

Monday, November 21: Finals Game 6 (if necessary)

Tuesday, November 22: Finals Game 7 (if necessary)


Schneider, Amodio, and Roach have earned byes and will first appear in the semifinal round. On Tuesday, November 8, the cutthroat competition will pause for a first-of-its kind special exhibition game between the three top-seeded champions, who will compete against each other for the first time in a friendly warm-up game. Schneider competes in the first semifinal Wednesday, November 9; Amodio plays Thursday, November 10; and Roach takes the stage for the first time Friday, November 10.


Additionally, Jessica Stephens has already punched her ticket to the tournament by winning the first week of the JEOPARDY! Second Chance competition; the winner of the second week of Second Chance will join her in the ToC after that competition concludes on Friday, October 29.


Matchups for the quarterfinals are as follows:


Monday, October 31

Ryan Long, a 16-game champion from Philadelphia, Pa.

Megan Wachspress, a 6-game champion from Berkeley, Calif.

Maureen O’Neil, a 4-game champion from Cambridge, Mass.


Tuesday, November 1

Jonathan Fisher, an 11-game champion originally from Coral Gables, Fla.

Andrew He, a 5-game champion from San Francisco, Calif.

Christine Whelchel, a 4-game champion from Spring Hill, Tenn.


Wednesday, November 2

Brian Chang, a 7-game champion from Chicago, Ill.

Tyler Rhode, a 5-game champion from New York, N.Y.

Margaret Shelton, a 4-game champion from Pittsburgh, Pa.


Thursday, November 3

Courtney Shah, a 7-game champion from Portland, Ore.

John Focht, a 4-game champion originally from El Paso, Texas

*Second Chance Week 2 winner TBA


Friday, November 4

Eric Ahasic, a 6-game champion from Minneapolis, Minn.

Jaskaran Singh, winner of the JEOPARDY! National College Championship, from Plano, Texas

Jackie Kelly, a 4-game champion from Cary, N.C.


Monday, November 7

Zach Newkirk, a 6-game champion from Arlington, Va.

Jessica Stephens, winner of Second Chance Week 1, from Nashville, Tenn.

Sam Buttrey, winner of the JEOPARDY! Professors Tournament, from Pacific Grove, Calif.


To learn more about the JEOPARDY! Tournament of Champions, please visit Check local listings for show times and stations.


# # #


JEOPARDY!, America’s Favorite Quiz Show™, is in its 39th season in syndication. With a weekly audience over 20 million viewers,* JEOPARDY! is the top-rated quiz show on television. The show has won a total of 43 Emmy® Awards, holds the Guinness World Records® title for the most Emmy® Awards won by a TV game show and received a Peabody Award for “celebrating and rewarding knowledge.” JEOPARDY! is produced by Sony Pictures Television, a Sony Pictures Entertainment Company; it is distributed domestically by CBS Media Ventures and internationally by Paramount Global Content Distribution, both units of Paramount.

* Source: Nielsen NPower, 2020/21 (9/14/20-7/4/21)


Follow JEOPARDY!: | Facebook | Twitter | YouTube | Instagram

Press Contacts:

Alison Shapiro Cooke

Executive Director, Communications & Community Engagement | JEOPARDY!

(310) 244-6514


Susie Eun

Senior Publicity Manager | JEOPARDY!

(310) 244-6517