Masters® Is Longest-Running Sporting Event Broadcast on One Network

The Masters®, the most renowned tournament in golf, will be broadcast on CBS for the 51st consecutive year from the majestic setting of Augusta National Golf Club in Augusta, Ga. This year marks the 70th Masters Tournament, one of the most highly-anticipated sporting events of the year. This spring finds Tiger Woods returning to Augusta to defend his title once again after becoming only the third person to win at least four Masters Tournaments, joining Jack Nicklaus (6) and Arnold Palmer (4).

CBS Sports will bring viewers all the color, artistry and drama inherent to the world's most prestigious golf tournament and first major of the year with live third-round coverage of the Masters on Saturday, April 8 (3:30-7:00 PM, ET). Final-round 18-hole coverage is scheduled for Sunday, April 9 (2:30-7:00 PM, ET). Highlights of early-round play will be presented by CBS Sports on Thursday, April 6 and Friday, April 7 (11:35-11:50 PM, ET; both nights).

For the 21st consecutive year Jim Nantz will cover the Masters for CBS (his 19th year as host). He also handles coverage of the Highlight Shows, originating from Butler Cabin on the grounds of Augusta National. Lanny Wadkins joins Nantz in the 18th hole tower as lead analyst. Peter Oosterhuis will describe the action at the 17th hole; Verne Lundquist, the 16th hole; David Feherty, the 15th hole and Highlight Shows; Bill Macatee, the 14th hole; Peter Kostis, the 13th hole; and Bobby Clampett will tell the story at the 11th and 12th holes. Dick Enberg will conduct interviews and contribute essays from Butler Cabin.

Augusta National, home of the Masters since its inception in 1934, is the unrivaled host to the world’s greatest players and the most memorable moments in golf. Woods returns to Augusta to lead the tournament field of invitees, which is considered America’s most prestigious gathering of professional and amateur golfers. The 2006 tournament field includes past Masters champions: Phil Mickelson, Vijay Singh, Mike Weir, Jose Maria Olazabal, Mark O’Meara, Larry Mize, Ben Crenshaw, Fred Couples, Craig Stadler, Tom Watson, Nick Faldo, Ian Woosnam, Gary Player, Bernhard Langer, Sandy Lyle and Fuzzy Zoeller ; U.S. players: Chris DiMarco, John Daly, Davis Love III, Lucas Glover, Justin Leonard, David Toms, Jim Furyk, Stewart Cink, Kenny Perry, Chad Campbell, Scott Verplank, Augusta native Charles Howell III and Augusta resident Vaughn Taylor playing in his first Masters Tournament, as well as other international stars such as Ernie Els, Sergio Garcia, Michael Campbell, K.J. Choi, Darren Clarke, Padraig Harrington, Angel Cabrera, Miguel Angel Jimenez, Shingo Katayama, Stuart Appleby, Robert Allenby, Shigeki Maruyama, Adam Scott, Lee Westwood and Retief Goosen.*

CBS Sports' coverage of the Masters will be produced by Lance Barrow, coordinating producer of CBS golf, along with David Winner, and directed by Steve Milton and Bob Matina. Jim Rikhoff will serve as replay producer. Bob Mansbach will produce the late night highlight shows and Chris Svendsen will direct.

For the fourth consecutive year, the standard analog and HDTV productions of the Masters?? Tournament will be unified and will provide 18-hole coverage in HDTV's highest definition format.

In the largest HDTV golf production, CBS Sports will utilize 54 high definition cameras, including, for the first time, 10 hand-held HDTV cameras. The unified productions will be produced in HDTV's highest definition format, 1080i, and downconverted for CBS’s analog broadcast. This production technique also produces a better quality analog picture. Whether watching in widescreen HD or traditional 4x3 analog, viewers hear the same golf announcers and see the same camera angles, replays and graphics.

The 2000 Masters was the first golf tournament presented live in HDTV on network television. The 2003 Masters marked the first time that the standard and HDTV productions of the Tournament were unified.

Tony Petitti is Executive Vice President and Executive Producer, CBS Sports.

*For complete 2006 Masters Tournament invitees log onto